Schools & Departments

Select Schools or Departments

School of Biomedical Sciences

The School of Biomedical Sciences was formed in June 2009 by amalgamating the former pre-clinical Departments of Anatomy, Biochemistry (Medicine), Pharmacology and Physiology.

The School adopts a research theme-based approach, as its operational model is to facilitate translational and interdisciplinary research. Five thematic research programmes have been established to give new momentum to research and enable investigators with similar scientific expertise and interests to undertake more ambitious projects.

We offer a number of courses to medical and non-medical undergraduate programmes. The School has also established a Teaching and Learning Unit to develop and promote effective tools and good practices for advancing teaching quality. At the graduate level, our articulated MPhil-PhD in Biomedical Sciences programme offers a wide range of theme-based research topics. Partnership training programmes are jointly offered with reputable overseas institutions (e.g. the US National Institutes of Health) to provide our students with a global perspective and cutting-edge research training. Strong academic connections have also been built with several overseas partner institutions to promote exchanges of research personnel and students and various types of collaboration such as the establishment of joint research laboratories.

With its recent relocation to the Lo Kwee-Seong Integrated Biomedical Sciences Building, the School has expanded its core laboratories and established a first-rate animal holding facility. This state-of-the-art infrastructure will not only take us to new heights of excellence but also facilitate the advancement of biomedical research within the School, f Faculty and University in the years to come.

Contact number: (852) 3943 1233
Fax number: (852) 2603 5123